COVID-19 update

Due to the recent Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak many staff are not able to answer office phones. Please contact us by sending an email to building.control@brighton-hove.gov.uk

You can leave a message on our answerphone, but there may be a delay in getting back to you. This is because of the pressure the current situation has put on our service. Please do not hesitate to request site inspections using the above email address.

You'll need to give us at least one working days’ notice. 

Make sure you include: 

  • address of the site that needs a visit
  • the nature of the inspection you need
  • the name and phone number of the person requesting the visit
  • whether there's someone self isolating - due to being exposed to the virus or recovering from the virus - at the property

We will be aiming to continue business as usual during this exceptional period. Thank you.

Contact the Building Control team

Email: building.control@brighton-hove.gov.uk
Phone: 01273 292 050
Address: Building Control, Hove Town Hall, Norton Road, Hove, BN3 3BQ

Book a site inspection

Find out how to book an inspection.

When you can expect to hear from us

After you submit your application, we'll contact you to discuss paying your fees.

After you've paid and your application has been validated, we'll send you an acknowledgement letter and let you know who to contact if you have any questions.

Technical enquiries

For more detailed or technical advice on carrying out building works, please email building.control@brighton-hove.gov.uk. Our building control surveyors aim to respond within 5 working days.

Contact your dedicated building control officer

If you have an application in progress, you can contact your building control officer, as listed below. 

James Berney james.berney@brighton-hove.gov.uk 01273 292 074
Nigel Campbell nigel.campbell@brighton-hove.gov.uk 01273 292 729
Sally Card sally.card@brighton-hove.gov.uk 01273 292 353
Aaron Curtis aaron.curtis@brighton-hove.gov.uk 01273 291 046
Jon Gates jon.gates@brighton-hove.gov.uk 01273 292 038
Tony Gates tony.gates@brighton-hove.gov.uk 01273 292 034
Mary Imbery mary.imbery@brighton-hove.gov.uk 01273 292043
Khaleq Karami khaleq.karami@brighton-hove.gov.uk 01273 293491
Mike Sansom mike.sansom@brighton-hove.gov.uk 01273 292188
John Trimm john.trimm@brighton-hove.gov.uk 01273 292032

What to do if you have concerns or want to make a complaint

If you have any concerns or questions about how the service is managed, please contact our Head of Building Control at mike.sansom@brighton-hove.gov.uk.

If you wish to make a complaint about our service, please use the council’s online complaint form.