Brighton & Hove City Council election: May 2011

Results for the local election held on 5 May 2011.

Local elections were held on Thursday 5 May 2011. Following the election, The Green Party became the largest party in Brighton & Hove City Council with 23 seats. The Conservative Party has 18 seats and The Labour Party 13. The overall turnout was 41%. The results from the council election on Thursday 5 May are shown below. 

Seats by party

Party No. of seats
Conservative Party 18
Green Party 23
Independent 0
Liberal Democrats 0
The European Citizens Party 0
The Labour Party 13
Trade Union and Socialists Against Cuts 0
UK Independence Party 0
Total seats announced so far 54  / 54

Results by ward

Ward Turnout Elected

Brunswick & Adelaide (two seats)

Electorate: 7,508

Turnout: 41.8%

Phelim MacCafferty (Green)

Ollie Sykes (Green)

See full details of Brunswick & Adelaide ward election

Central Hove (two seats)

Electorate: 7,000

Turnout: 42.69%

Chris Hawtree (Green)

Andrew Wealls (Conservative)

See full details of Central Hove ward election

East Brighton (three seats)

Electorate: 10,237

Turnout: 39.51%

Gill Mitchell (Labour)

Warren Morgan (Labour) 

Craig Turton (Labour)

See full details of East Brighton ward election

Goldsmid (three seats)

Electorate: 11,835

Turnout: 47.03%

Ruth Buckley (Green)

Rob Jarrett (Green)

Alex Phillips (Green)

See full details of Goldsmid ward election

Hangleton & Knoll (three seats)

Electorate: 10,917

Turnout: 46.91%

Dawn Barnett (Conservative)

Brian Roger Fitch (Labour)

Tony Janio (Conservative)

See full details of Hangleton & Knoll ward election

Hanover & Elm Grove (three seats)

Electorate: 11,588

Turnout: 46.69%

Matt Follett (Green)

Bill Randall (Green)

Liz Wakefield (Green)

See full details of Hanover & Elm Grove ward election

Hollingdean & Stanmer (three seats)

Electorate: 11,733

Turnout: 39.73%

Jeanne Lepper (Labour)

Sven Rufus (Green)

Christina Summers (Green)

See full details of Hollingdean & Stanmer ward election

Hove Park (two seats)

Electorate: 8,045

Turnout: 46.87%

Jayne Bennett (Conservative)

Vanessa Brown (Conservative)

See full details of Hove Park ward election

Moulsecoomb & Bevendean (three seats)

Electorate: 12,161

Turnout: 31.81%

Leigh Farrow (Labour)

Mo Marsh (Labour)

Anne Meadows (Labour)

See full details of Moulsecoomb & Bevendean ward election

North Portslade (two seats)

Electorate: 7,659

Turnout: 39.56%

Bob Carden (Labour)

Penny Gilbey (Labour)

See full details of North Portslade ward election

Patcham (three seats)

Electorate: 10,895


Bryan Pidgeon (Conservative)

Carol Theobald (Conservative)

Geoffrey Theobald (Conservative)

See full details of Patcham ward election

Preston Park (three seats)

Electorate: 10,818

Turnout: 52.76%

Mike Jones (Green)

Amy Kennedy (Green)

Leo Littman (Green)

See full details of Preston Park ward election

Queen’s Park (three seats)

Electorate: 11,727

Turnout: 45.49%

Geoffrey Bowden (Green)

Ben Duncan (Green)

Stephanie Powell (Green)

See full details of Queen's Park ward election

Regency (two seats)

Electorate: 7,946

Turnout: 38.91%

Ania Kitcat (Green)

Jason Kitcat (Green)

See full details of Regency ward election

Rottingdean coastal (three seats) Electorate - 10,732 (Turnout 46.52%)

Linda Hyde (Conservative)

Mary Mears (Conservative)

David Smith (Conservative

See full details of Rottingdean Coastal ward election

South Portslade (two seats)

Electorate: 7,043

Turnout: 43.35%

Les Hamilton (Labour)

Alan Robins (Labour)

See full details of South Portslade ward election

St Peter’s & North Laine (three seats)

Electorate: 13,304

Turnout: 41.40%

Ian Davey (Green)

Lizzie Deane (Green)

Pete West (Green)

See full details of St Peter’s & North Laine ward election

Westbourne (two seats)

Electorate: 7,443

Turnout: 45.52%

Denise Cobb (Conservative)

Brian Oxley (Conservative)

See full details of Westbourne ward election

Wish (two seats)

Electorate: 6,990

Turnout: 51.10%

Anne Pissaridou (Labour)

Garry Peltzer Dunn (Conservative)

See full details of Wish ward election

Withdean (three seats)

Electorate: 10,887

Turnout: 50.95%

Ann Norman (Conservative)

Ken Norman (Conservative)

Sue Shanks (Green)

See full details of Withdean ward election

Woodingdean (two seats)

Electorate: 7,370

Turnout: 42.73%

Dee Simson (Conservative)

Geoff Wells (Conservative)

See full details of Woodingdean ward election