Rugby World Cup 2015

RWC2015 Host CityRugby World Cup - Thursday 18 September to Friday 31 October 2015

The 8th Rugby World Cup took place in England & Wales from 18 September to 31 October 2015. 

Throughout Rugby World Cup 2015, 48 matches were held in 13 different venues across 11 cities in England & Wales, including two matches at the Brighton Community Stadium:

  • South Africa v Japan, 19 September 2015 - 4.45pm
  • ​Samoa v USA, 20 September 2015 - 12 noon

Samoa and the USA compete at the Brighton Community StadiumWhat happened

Along with our partners in the city, we organised events, family activities and cultural opportunities to coincide with the matches taking place in Brighton & Hove. 

Rugby World Cup Fanzone flagFanzone

The official Rugby World Cup 2015 Fanzone was located on Brighton beach, east of the Brighton Pier, during the first weekend of the Tournament when matches were played in the city. With a capacity of 10,000, the Fanzone offered the chance to enjoy refreshments and soak up the Tournament atmosphere with friends, family and fellow fans. The  Fanzone featured activities from Rugby World Cup 2015 sponsors and a big screen showing all the matches played during the first weekend of the Tournament. The Fanzone was free to enter and opened from Friday evening to Sunday.

The Fanzone was perfectly placed to take in the cultural elements of the Tournament weekend celebrations which took place on Madeira Drive, including the Costume Games.​

Volunteer programme – ‘The Pack’

The applications were reviewed and approximately 10,000 people invited to ‘Try Outs’ (selection events) in 2014. The Try Outs were held in each of the 13 host cities by invitation only to the selected applicants. A total of 6,000 members of ‘The Pack’ were confirmed in early 2015. During the Tournament, the 6,000 members of The Pack completed 22,832 volunteer shifts and 238,995 volunteering hours.

Fans watch the big screen in the FanzoneTeam Bases for 2015

There were 41 team bases hosting the 20 participating teams during the Tournament, taking place in England and in Cardiff.

These included a mix of Rugby clubs, universities, colleges, schools and established training grounds used by nations, Premiership Championship Rugby and football clubs.

The approved local team bases were:

  • Samoa - The University of Brighton, Falmer Campus
  • South Africa - The University of Brighton, Eastbourne Campus and Eastbourne College
  • Japan - Brighton College

Photo credits:

TM © RWC Ltd 2008