Following the resignation of Maggie Barradell, an election was held on Thursday 4 August 2016 to fill the vacancy of councillor in the East Brighton ward of Brighton & Hove City Council.

Lloyd Russell-Moyle has been elected as councillor for the East Brighton ward.

Results and turnout

Results as follows:

  • Mitch Alexander, Green Party – 286 votes
  • Andrew England, Liberal Democrats – 116 votes
  • Leigh Farrow, UK Independence Party (UKIP) – 152 votes
  • David Plant, Conservative Party Candidate – 514 votes
  • Lloyd Russell-Moyle, Labour and Co-operative Party – 1,488 votes
  • Ramon David Sammut, Independent – 31 votes

For more information, go to our full election results page for the East Brighton by-election

Votes were counted at Brighton Town Hall after polls closed at 10pm. The turnout was 24.48%.  

Who could vote

To vote in the East Brighton ward by-election election you had to be 18 years or over on polling day, registered to vote and:

  • be a British, Commonwealth or EU citizen
  • be resident in the East Brighton ward
  • not be legally excluded from voting

Key dates

19 July Last day to register to vote
20 July (5pm) Last day for us to receive your postal vote application
27 July (5pm) Last day for us to receive your proxy vote application
4 August (7am to 10pm) Polling day for the by-election