Your Member of Parliament (MP)

The names and contact details of the MPs are:

Brighton Kemptown - Simon Kirby MP (Conservative)

Office: 1 Central Court, Central Avenue, Telscombe Cliffs, Peacehaven, BN10 7LU   
Tel: 01273 589178 / 587319 or 0207 219 7024 
Surgeries: For surgery details and to make an appointment, please phone 0207 219 7024

Brighton Pavilion - Dr Caroline Lucas (Green)

Office: Brighton Media Centre, 15-17 Middle Street, Brighton, BN1 1AL
Tel: 01273 201130

Hove - Peter Kyle MP (Labour)

Office99 Church Road, Hove, BN3 2BA
Tel: 020 7219 6133 

About Members of Parliament


The UK public elects Members of Parliament (MPs) to represent their interests and concerns in the House of Commons. MPs are involved in considering and proposing new laws, and can use their position to ask government ministers questions about current issues.

MPs split their time between working in Parliament itself, working in the constituency that elected them, and working for their political party. Some MPs from the ruling party become government ministers with specific responsibilities in certain areas, such as Health or Defence.

Working in Parliament
When Parliament is sitting (meeting), MPs generally spend their time working in the House of Commons. This can include raising issues affecting their constituents, attending debates and voting on new laws. Most MPs are also members of committees, which look at issues in detail, from government policy and new laws, to wider topics like human rights.

Working in their constituency
In their constituency, MPs often hold a 'surgery' in their office, where local people can come along to discuss any matters that concern them. MPs also attend functions, visit schools and businesses and generally try to meet as many people as possible. This gives MPs further insight and context into issues they may discuss when they return to Westminster.

There are 650 MPs in the UK and three represent Brighton & Hove, one in each of the three constituencies: Brighton Kemptown, Brighton Pavilion and Hove. The three constituencies are held by one Conservative, one Green and one Labour MP.

Elections are currently held no more than every five years. The next election will be no later than May 2020.