Consultation on the reorganisation of secondary school catchment areas from September 2018

During March and April 2016, we asked for people’s views on proposed changes to school admissions for children starting secondary school in September 2018. This engagement is now closed.

The feedback we have had will help our cross-party working group on school places to develop concrete proposals on a street-by-street basis that will be subject of a formal consultation process in the autumn.

There are two main reasons why we need to change our secondary admissions systems:

  • by 2018 there will be more children living in some of the current catchment areas than there are places available
  • a new secondary school run by the University of Brighton will be opening in September 2018.

The proposals we asked for your views on during March and April were put together by headteachers, school governors and councillors from all parties.

We asked for your views on four aspects of secondary school admissions:

  • what basic principles we should give priority to when considering a new secondary school admissions system
  • whether children who receive free school meals should be given priority
  • three different possible options for future catchment areas
  • whether to keep random allocation as the ‘tie-break’ for oversubscribed schools, or to use home to school distance instead. The use of home to school distance would be within the priority system including catchment areas, not instead of them.

​​Download the frequently asked questions about the consultation (PDF 350KB)

Proposed catchment area options

The catchment area option maps were drawn up on the basis that each proposed area had enough spaces for the pupils who live in them. They were not intended as concrete proposals or a street-by-street guide. They were suggestions in order to help get a public debate started.

Public information events

We held public information events across the city in March and April 2016.

March 2016

Date Time Venue
Tuesday 15 March 7pm to 9pm Moulsecoomb Primary
Wednesday 16 March 12 noon to 2pm Brighthelm Centre
Wednesday 16 March 7pm to 9pm Dorothy Stringer
Thursday 17 March 12 noon to 2pm Whitehawk Library
Thursday 17 March 6.30pm to 8.30pm ​Portslade Aldridge Community Academy
Saturday 19 March 10am to 12 noon Jubilee Library
Tuesday 22 March 7pm to 9pm Whitehawk Library
Wednesday 23 March 12 noon to 2pm Jubilee Library

April 2016

Date Time Venue
Tuesday 12 April 7pm to 9pm Longhill High School
Wednesday 13 April 7pm to 9pm Patcham High School
Thursday 14 April 7pm to 9pm Sussex County Cricket Club, Hove.
Tuesday 19 April 7pm to 9pm Balfour Primary School
Wednesday 20 April 7pm to 9pm Brighthelm Centre (for school governors only)
Thursday 21 April 3.30pm to 5pm Moulsecoomb Primary
Thursday 21 April 7pm to 9pm Mile Oak Primary School
Friday 22 April 9.15am to 10.15am City Aca​demy Whitehawk
Tuesday 26 April 3.30pm to 5.30pm St Mark's Primary School
Tuesday 26 April 7pm to 9pm Carlton Hill Primary School
Wednesday 27 April 7pm to 9pm Brighthelm Centre
Thursday 28 April 7pm to 9pm Blatchington Mill (C1 Drama Studio)