About secondary schools

Secondary schools are for children who are between 11 and 16 years old. If the school has a sixth form, children can study there until they are 18 years old.

Find out about education in UK and the national curriculum

Types of school

We have four types of secondary schools in the city:

  • community schools, which are controlled by Brighton & Hove City Council
  • church voluntary aided schools are schools with a religious character -  they are their own admission authority, and their admission arrangements are likely to reflect the school’s religious character - they follow the national curriculum, but they can choose what they teach in religious studies
  • free schools are state schools funded by the Department for Education, they are independent from local authority control - the governors of the free school set their own admission arrangements
  • academies are publicly funded independently run schools - the governors of the school set and apply the admission arrangements and they can follow a different curriculum - the governors for the two Aldridge academies have said they wish to follow the admission arrangements set for community schools

List of secondary schools

All secondary schools:

    More information

    Download our school application guides for more information.