These dates apply to community schools in the city, maintained by the council. 

They may not apply to academies, free schools, sixth form colleges, further education colleges and schools in the independent sector.

School year 2021 to 2022

Autumn 2021

  • Term starts on Friday 3 September for most pupils
  • Thursday 2 September is usually an INSET day, but please check with individual schools
  • Half term is from Monday 25 October to Friday 29 October
  • Term ends on Friday 17 December

Spring 2022

  • Term starts on Tuesday 4 January
  • Half term is from Monday 14 February to Friday 18 February
  • Term ends on Friday 8 April

Summer 2022

  • Term starts on Monday 25 April
  • Half term is from Monday 30 May to Wednesday 1 June
  • Term ends on Friday 22 July

Download the school term calendar for 2021 to 2022.

Five days are allowed for in-service training (INSET) for staff. These are published on individual school websites.

School year 2022 to 2023

Autumn 2022

  • Term starts on Friday 2 September for most pupils
  • Thursday 1 September is usually an INSET day, but please check with individual schools
  • Half term is Monday 24 October to Friday 28 October
  • Term ends on Friday 16 December

Spring 2023

  • Term starts on Tuesday 3 January
  • Half term is Monday 13 February to Friday 17 February
  • Term ends on Friday 31 March

Summer 2023

  • Term starts on Monday 17 April
  • Half term is Tuesday 30 May to Friday 2 June
  • Term ends on Friday 21 July

Download the school term calendar for 2022 to 2023.

Five days are allowed for in-service training (INSET) for staff. These are published on individual school websites.