Types of DBS check

Applicants for the Buy with Confidence scheme will be required to supply a Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) check to us in respect of every employee/subcontractor working in peoples’ homes before you can be accepted onto the scheme.

This is an important part of the scheme for the assurance of consumers. It is advisable to apply for any necessary disclosures at application form stage in order for your approval to be processed as quickly as possible.

There are three types or levels of DBS check:


The Basic Disclosure is the lowest level available to anyone for any purpose. It contains details of convictions considered unspent under the Rehabilitation of Offenders Act 1974 or states that there are no such convictions.


The intermediate level of Disclosure is the Standard Disclosure (termed as a "criminal record certificate" under Part V of the Police Act 1997). This includes convictions held on central records and records both spent and unspent convictions. This means that even minor convictions, perhaps dating from years ago, are included on the Disclosure.


The highest level of Disclosure is the Enhanced Disclosure (termed as an "enhanced criminal record certificate" under Part V of the Police Act 1997). In addition to the details included in Standard Disclosures, Enhanced Disclosures may contain non-conviction information which a Chief Officer or Chief Constable may choose to disclose if they believe it to be relevant to the position in question.

Which check you'll need

A Standard or Enhanced Disclosure is only available for positions that are exceptions to the Rehabilitation of Offenders Act 1974 (Exclusions and Exceptions) (Scotland) Order 2003. People eligible to apply for Standard or Enhanced Disclosure include those seeking work involving regular contact with children and vulnerable adults, those involved in the administration of the law and those employed in certain other sensitive areas and professions.

Applicants for Buy with Confidence should apply for a Basic DBS check.

How to apply for a DBS check

How to apply 

You can apply for a Basic check online at or by using a paper application form available from DBS helpline on 03000 200 190.

The check costs £23. It usually takes 14 days for you to receive your certificate.

In order to make an online application for a Basic Disclosure you will need:

  • all your addresses for the last 5 years and the dates you lived there
  • your National Insurance number
  • a debit or credit card
  • proof of your identity, for example a passport, valid driving licence or birth certificate

If you have not used GOV.UK Verify before it takes about 15 minutes to get set up. You can then use it to access other government services securely.

If you have any questions, please phone the DBS helpline on 03000 200 190.