Safer Routes to School

Safer Routes to School Scheme

What is the Safer Routes to School initiative?

The Safer Routes to School Scheme aims to reduce the dependency on the car for the school journey, by improving the area around the school and making routes to school safer for children and their parents/carers to walk or cycle. It is also an opportunity to raise awareness of transport, sustainability and health. The Safer Routes to School project is a joint initiative involving the local authority, school staff, pupils, parents and local residents.

Who is taking part this year?

West Hove Infants’ School, West Hove Juniors’ School and Goldstone Primary School are the focus of this year's scheme.

What improvements are being made?

As part of this years scheme:

  • Two zebra crossings on Portland Road near School Road and Mansfield Road are being installed.
  • A pedestrian refuge on Holmes Avenue near Wayfield Avenue to help people cross this busy road and slow speeds is being installed. 
  • Pavements are being extended to improve pedestrian visibility on the junction of St Joseph’s Close and Old Shoreham Road.
  • Changes to the road layout are being made to make westbound right turns into the close less difficult to see.
  • Plus, all three schools are working to renew their school travel plans with interested parents’ groups and the School Travel Team.

Surveys were run with the school communities in the autumn and a wider public consultation with the local community followed. Approval was given for the scheme by the Environment, Transport and Sustainability committee on 20 January 2015.

Who is taking part in 2015/16?

In 2015-16 the scheme will focus on street works around two school expansions in conjunction with phase 3 of the 20mph scheme.

The schools taking part are:

  • St Andrew’s Church of England Primary in central Hove
  • Saltdean Primary

In addition to this, the scheme will oversee works around the new Bilingual School site beside Hove Park in The Droveway. In all three areas, local businesses and residents will be kept informed of proposals and given the opportunity to comment.

Who can take part?

Schools included in the Safer Routes to School Scheme are usually identified by the number and location of child pedestrian collisions and fatalities within a seven hundred and fifty metre radius of the chosen school or cluster of schools. Other factors are taken into account including participation in other road safety schemes and initiatives.

Who has taken part in previous years?

Since 2004 the scheme has been implemented at the following schools across the city:

  • Patcham Infant / Patcham Junior / Patcham High / Patcham House
  • Mile Oak Primary / Portslade Community College
  • Peter Gladwin Primary / Hillside School / Downs Park School
  • St Luke's Infant and Junior School
  • Elm Grove Primary School / St Martin's Primary School / Fairlight Primary School
  • Carlton Hill Primary School / Queens Park Primary School / Tarnerland Nursery / Royal Spa Nursery
  • Benfield School / St Mary's RC Primary / St Nicolas C of E Juniors / St Peter's Community Infants
  • Balfour Primary/ Dorothy Stringer School/ Varndean School
  • Connaught Annexe of West Hove Infants and Holland Road Annexe of West Hove Juniors
  • School expansion works at St Peters and St Nicholas Church of England Primaries and the new Hove Junior School on Holland Road.

Contact Us

For further information contact the Road Safety Team.