Pollutants & health effects

All local authorities in the UK have a duty under the Environment Act 1995 to assess airborne pollution in their areas.

The air quality strategy for England gives eight pollutants that must be monitored. They are

  • Benzene
  • 1,3-Butadiene
  • Carbon monoxide
  • Lead
  • Nitrogen dioxide
  • Ozone
  • Particulates (PM10)
  • Sulphur dioxide

Further information on the health effects of air pollutants can be found in Section Two of Brighton & Hove's Air Quality Action Plan  

You can aslo get useful information from the British Lung Foundation