The Electoral Register

The electoral register is a list of everybody within the city who is entitled to vote.

It has been compiled from voter registration forms that were delivered to all residential addresses in Brighton & Hove at a set time of year.

On 1 December 2016 a new Electoral Register was published. This will be used for all elections called between 1 December 2016 and 1 December 2017.

It is still possible to register to vote throughout the year. You can register at

Individual electoral registration (IER)

Since June 2014 people registering to vote in Brighton & Hove have done so under the new system of Individual Electoral Registration (IER). Find out more about Individual Electoral Registration

There are two types of register. Why?

Using information received by the public, registration officers keep two registers, the electoral register and the open register (also known as the edited register).

The electoral register

The electoral register lists the names and addresses of everyone who is registered to vote in public elections. The register is used for electoral purposes, such as making sure only eligible people can vote. It is also used for other limited purposes specified in law, such as:

  • detecting crime (eg fraud)
  • calling people for jury service
  • checking credit applications

The open register

The open register is an extract of the electoral register, but it's not used for elections. It can be bought by any person, company or organisation. For example, it is used by businesses and charities to confirm name and address details.

Your name and address will be included in the open register unless you ask for them to be removed. Removing your details from the open register does not affect your right to vote.

For more details, read the leaflet "What happens to my personal details?" (PDF 750KB)

How can I opt out of the open register?

Contact Electoral Services in writing at the address listed on our contact details. Please include your full name and address. You can also email a request to

Publication dates

The Register of Electors is updated every year and is produced to allow eligible people to vote in elections. It was published on 1 December 2016.

The cut off date to register to vote in the general election on Thursday 8 June was Monday 22 May 2017.

Here are the deadlines for rolling registration in 2017  

If we get your form by Your details will be changed on
Monday 12 December 2016 Tuesday 3 January 2017
Tuesday 10 January 2017 Wednesday 1 February 2017
Tuesday 7 February 2017 Wednesday 1 March 2017
Friday 10 March 2017 Monday 3 April 2017
Thursday 6 April 2017 Tuesday, 2 May 2017
Friday 9 June 2017 Monday 3 July 2017
Monday 10 July 2017 Tuesday, 1 August 2017
Thursday 10 August 2017 Friday, 1 September 2017