School term and holiday dates

April to July 2015

Please check with individual schools for their INSET days.

Term Start date End date
Summer term Monday 13 April 2015 Wednesday 22 July 2015
Half term break Monday 25 May 2015 Friday 29 May 2015
Summer holiday Thursday 23 July 2015 Wednesday 2 September 2015

 

 

An MS Word version is attached below so schools can add in their own INSET dates. However, please ensure the name of the school is made clear at the top, as schools' INSET dates will vary.

September 2015 to July 2016

The first day of school for staff is Wednesday 2 September 2015, which is a citywide INSET day.

Please check with individual schools for their INSET days.

Term Start date End date
Autumn term Thursday 3 September 2015 Friday 18 December 2015
Half term break Monday 26 October 2015 Friday 30 October 2015
Christmas holiday Monday 21 December 2015 Monday 4 January 2016
Spring term Tuesday 5 January 2016 Thursday 24 March 2016
Half term break Monday 15 February 2016 Friday 19 February 2016
Spring holiday Friday 25 March 2016 Friday 8 April 2016
Summer term Monday 11 April 2016 Friday 22 July 2016
Half term break Monday 30 May 2016 Friday 3 June 2016

 

 

The dates listed above have been agreed after consultation with maintained schools and other key stakeholders. Term dates for academies, free schools and independent schools/nurseries may differ, so please check with them.

In-service Training (INSET) days and school closures

In addition to the school term dates above, schools are closed for five staff training days in a school year, known as INSET days. One of these days is always the day before pupils start back to school for the autumn term.

Please check with individual schools for their INSET days.

We'll publish details on our school closures page if schools need to close for any other reason.

Requests for leave during school term time

The law says that parents do not have an automatic right to take their children out of school for holidays during term-time. Holidays in term time will only be authorised by a school in exceptional circumstances.

Holiday activities

Looking for events and fun activities to keep children and young people entertained during school holidays?

Go to our holiday activities web page to find out what is available during upcoming school holidays.


For details of holiday dates in neighbouring authorities